Reviews

To verify these reviews, scroll to the bottom of this page and click on The Knot link.

3 BALL ENTERTAINMENT - "The Red Muffs ROCK! Serious talent and pure entertainment." - JD Roth & Todd Nelson, Producers of TV's The Biggest Loser


PACIFIC MESOTHELIOMA CENTER - "I am not sure where to start with Drew Young.  Let's start off when I first heard about him eight years ago.  I was volunteering at a motorcycle charity event.  It was awful ... the food .... and the music .....  We were putting together our 1st Greatest Escape Motorcycle Ride and were looking for a band, but clearly not the one we were listening to that day.  Tom Hilton the radio personality, who was the emcee, told me about a young group of amazingly talented musicians.  Not only that, he said that they were all such decent young men, he would not have a problem with his daughter dating any one of them.  He introduced me to Drew and the Walking Phoenixes, a Johnny Cash cover band.  They are outstanding musicians and we have worked with them several times over the years at our rides and walks.   Drew has also stepped in on many occasions to help us out with sound.  This past Sunday he was the DJ at our 7th annual 5K walk/hike for mesothelioma.  I cannot recommend Drew Young enough.  He is talented, reliable and great to work with." - Clare Cameron Executive Director of Pacific Mesothelioma Center at PHLBI 


WEDDING on 7/22/2011 - "When my husband and I became engaged and started planning our wedding for the summer of 2011, the first thing we agreed on was having the Red Muffs perform at our reception. Instead of splurging on fancy linens and flowers, we knew that having them play at our wedding would make it most memorable. 7 years later, our guests are still referring to our wedding as "one of best weddings they have ever attended because of that band" Point is that no one will remember your linens or your flowers and most guests start to look at their watches and leave after the cake is served. This was not the case at our wedding, our guests were still there when the lights came on as no one wanted the night to end thanks to these amazing musicians. If you are looking to hire live entertainment for your special day, you found them. 100 stars for Young Dempsey Productions if we could and they now have 3 different options depending on your musical preference along with MC/DJ services and videography. We love you guys!" - Laura & Jason (wedding bride & groom)


WEDDING on 9/29/2018 - "Drew and the rest of the band, Red Muffs, did an outstanding job at my wedding reception on September 29th. They showed up very early to set up and they played 3 very long amazing sets that had all 60 guests in aww. Everyone was dancing and having the time of their lives. Such a great selection of music that sounded incredible. I’ve seen this band perform all over So Cal for at least 10 years now, but something about that night was magical. The band looked professional and definitely acted professional. I was so proud to have them their for our special night and they were ecstatic to share it with us. Drew even went the extra mile and set up a great slide show that played our personal pictures throughout the evening. The Red Muffs are the real deal, you won’t find a better band anywhere. I highly recommend booking them for any festive event you are planning. Love you guys. Rock on." - Erin & Stephanie (wedding groom & bride)


WEDDING on 9/20/2015 - "We had a great experience with Young Dempsey Productions! We were in contact with Drew and he was with us every step of the way. He did a great job of catering to our needs in regards to the music and for the organization of our wedding. Their live band, the Red Muffs, played some great music and really got everyone dancing out on the floor." - Jacob & Coley (wedding groom & bride)


WEDDING on 9/17/2011 - "My wedding day was approaching and I couldn’t find a videographer anywhere that i felt comfortable and happy with. Believe me I am not picky but when ur gonna have someone film you and your bridesmaids get ready you want to feel safe and you don’t want a creeper! Lol  Anyway a friend told me about Young Dempsey Productions so I decided to give them a call and set up an appointment with them. Upon meeting Drew I knew I found the right production company to handle my wedding day! Drew made me feel comfortable, safe and most importantly non stressed out anymore. Drew knew exactly what I wanted and he even took the time to go to my wedding site with me and he went over all the angles and placements of the cameras from start to finish. Drew took a huge amount of stress off of me! My fiancé and I had Drew also do a “he said she said” hysterical video for the wedding instead of doing the toasts. He brought in a projector and a projection screen for us. After learning he was in a band also my fiancé and I decided to go see them perform. Needless to say we also hired his band for our wedding !!!! They were so energetic and knew how to get the party started and keep it going!!! Looking back I had the best wedding day ever!!! Sounds corny but I swear it’s true!!! Young Dempsey Productions was efficient, professional , down to earth, and never nickel and dimes my husband and I. Without Young Dempsey Productions I would have never had the wedding and the video of my dreams!!!!! I was and still am pleased and happy with them. I refer them to everyone I know. I even hired them again to film my daughters school project!!!!! If you want a hands down amazing stress free and incredible video than I highly suggest hiring Young Dempsey Productions. You won’t be let down nor disappointed. Good luck on your wedding day to all that read this review!!!!!!" - Trisha & Matt (wedding bride & groom)


WEDDING on 11/27/2010 - "When I got married in 2010, I hired Young Dempsey Productions to run all the sound for the ceremony; video record the whole wedding and the band played the reception. It was a one stop shop and I couldn’t have asked for a better experience! The ceremony was beautiful and stress free. We danced the night away! From 5 to 95 years old, our guests danced the night away to all the olds but goods and today hits. Once a year my husband and I watch our wedding video and still feel so great full to have had Young Dempsey Productions record and edit out wedding day. I was blessed to have hired these profession experts for my special day and I still hire them for special events today. They are just absolutely the BEST!" - Jaqueline & Cliff (wedding bride & groom)


WEDDING on 9/9/2017 - "I received so many compliments from my friends and family regarding the band and music at our wedding. This group is wonderful and helped my our special day meaningful and unforgettable. They are professional, friendly, and easy going, which helped keep our wedding stress free so we could focus on spending quality time with each other and our guests. I highly recommend them!" - Cindy & Ryan (wedding bride & groom)


WEDDING on 11/10/18 - "I can’t even put into words how much I love Drew and The Red Muffs. They were the first vendor we secured when we started planning our wedding. They were a must have for me. I wanted to throw and epic reception and they definitely brought the house down and gave us an unforgettable party!!! From the ceremony to the last dance these guys are fantastic." - Lydia & Neil (wedding bride & groom)


WEDDING on 8/16/2014 - "I Used the Young Dempsey Productions for my wedding, super organized, timely ,professional and affordable. I highly recommend this company . Our wedding went without a hitch 5☆☆☆☆☆ all the way!" - Damien & Leigh (wedding groom & bride)


WEDDING on 5/19/2018 - "I highly recommend Young Dempsey Productions! If I could give 100 stars, I would! My husband and I, before we were married, discovered them one night when strolling the streets of downtown Ventura. From one of the local establishments, we heard the most fun music and could see a crowded group of happy fans dancing and singing along with them. The place was packed! They were rock'n! We squeezed in and danced the rest of the night with them all. Their performance was excellent! Such fun! When planning our wedding more than a year later, it was a dream of ours to have this group perform at our reception. We were so thrilled to learn that they were available and that Young Dempsey Band has so much more to offer at weddings with Young Dempsey Productions! They were pros at customizing their services for us, at MC'ing the reception and keeping us on track, at entertaining our guests through out dinner and the speeches, and then getting everyone up, of all ages, dancing and singing along! We had the most fun! They're easy going, they know their craft and they're just great people at heart. They made the night very special for us; it would not have been as wonderful as it was without them. Thanks so much Drew! We love you guys!" - Nannette & Bruce (wedding bride & groom)


WEDDING on 12/22/2013 - "Drew played at my wedding with the Red Muffs back in 2013. Without their entertainment my wedding would not have been complete. They provided MC for the wedding and it was very professional and kept up a positive energy for our guests. Their talent is in their performance as a band. Almost all of my friends and my wife’s friends play an instrument or are in a band as well. They are a tough crowd to win over being passionate about this topic. All of them stated it was one of the best shows of their life and they have never had that much fun during a performance. Great fun and worth every penny, maybe even more than what they charge. If you would like a boring wedding with no fun or excitement, please don’t hire them." - Blaine & Erin (wedding groom & bride)


WEDDING on 5/26/2012 - "These guys are the best!!! Couldn’t be happier with my choice on our big day. Drew’s has such a great voice and knows how to set the vibe for a great time." - Carolyn & Erik (wedding bride & groom)


WEDDING on 6/26/2004 - "We were so pleased to have Drew be a part of our wedding! He exceeded all of our expectations. He’s been a part of several of my families weddings as well, and was just as awesome! Highly recommend them!" - Carlie & Danny (wedding bride & groom)


WEDDING on 5/17/2013 - "The Red Muffs are awesome! They played our wedding and I can't tell you how many compliments we received from family, friends and even the venue staff on how great the music was. They are energetic and engaging. Definitely a crowd pleaser. They handled the DJ music for the special songs and background music during dinner, then played live the rest of the night. Highly recommend them!" - Angela & Michael (wedding bride & groom)


WEDDING on 9/29/2012 - "I need to take a moment to thank Young Dempsey Productions for basically saving my wedding day. There were some other companies involved that were sub-par but thank God when Drew's band started jamming, everyone's face lit up. The sound was so good. The dancing was on. Drew MC'd the event and he was totally on point. So don't take a chance, Drew has been in the game for over 10 years. So glad I hired them. Young Dempsey Productions made me look like a hero in my wife's eyes!" - Lucian & Celeste (wedding groom & bride) 


WEDDING on 8/29/2009 - "I cannot say enough about our Wedding experience. Every moment was captured, and was beautifully put together for my husband and I to view, as well as with our families. We also had the pleasure of Drew's live band playing a variety of music that kept our party going. I would recommend their services to anyone who enjoys feeling right at home by the Dempsey family business." - Liz & Paul (wedding bride & groom)


WEDDING on 7/23/2016 - "This is the band you want for your wedding. They can play so many different genres. The music can be tailored to your personalities. They were punctual and professional. The door of communication was always open and prompt. The instruments were set up inside the ball room, and they also had equipment set up playing ceremony music outside on the golf course." - Mimi & Dustin  (wedding bride & groom)


WEDDING on 5/21/2011 - "These guys were so much fun, our wedding was 7 years ago and our friends and family still talk about how great the band was! Very professional, on time, very attentive in the planning phase, all around a great experience. Would not hesitate to recommend them." - Jackie & Tyler (wedding bride & groom)


WEDDING on 7/16/2016 - "Drew and the gang were the best at our wedding! We initially were looking for someone to DJ our wedding since we were trying to stay within a tight budget. We never thought we could afford to have a live band and someone who could also MC the whole evening. Drew is very professional and fun. He and my husband go way back and I remember going to go see Drew's band play at the Chili Cook Off. Not saying he would do this for your wedding, but he actually let our friend Kyle play the guitar up on stage with the band. Drew and his band played really great music and knew exactly when to cue each song that we specifically wanted. This band was really the icing on top of the cake ;-). Love you guys!" - Heather & Deven (wedding bride & groom)

FROM THE WARDEN OF IDOC - “I just wanted to take a moment to say thank you for volunteering your time to play at the Idaho State Correctional Institution this past weekend. The show was enjoyed by both the inmates as well as staff. Numerous inmates have mentioned how it was inspirational and uplifting.” - Randy Blades, Warden Idaho State Correctional Institution

FROM THE CITY OF FOLSOM, CA - “Drew Young and The Walking Phoenixes have played twice for the City of Folsom at important community events. The band is tight, the musicians professional, and the performances enthusiastic and entertaining. They have a wide repertoire, but of course their take on Johnny Cash songs is outstanding.” - Robert Goss, Director City of Folsom Parks and Recreation Department

FROM THE MAYOR OF FOLSOM, CA - “Drew Young and the Walking Phoenixes have played at a number of venues in Folsom in the past few years. They are a very talented and entertaining band and Folsom is a wonderful backdrop for their performances! They have also been a great source of support for fundraising in Folsom, having played benefit events for the Retired Correctional Officers, Folsom Prison Museum and our local Veterans. They also performed during the ribbon cutting ceremony for the newest jewel in Folsom, The Johnny Cash Trail, a bike and pedestrian trail located along Folsom Prison property, leading to what promises to be the most iconic bike/pedestrian overcrossing in the US. The story of the trail and overcrossing has already received significant media attention across the US and Europe as well as being included in recent editions of both Billboard and Rolling Stone magazines.” - Kerri M. Howell, Mayor Folsom, CA 

WINNER for BEST OF WEDDINGS at TheKnot.com!